top of page

Kumasi:Finding Joy in Adversity



Kumasi is the beating center of Ghana's Ashanti region. Kumasi has become famous for its cultural diversity and commercial hub. Each Kumasi suburb has its unique history. Fraternity life is centered on a set of shared beliefs and ideals. Kumasi's foundation was laid with hard work and blood sacrifice, as our colorful history reveals. My grandparents taught me that Otumfuo Osei Tutu 1 transformed the city under the guidance of his chief priest Okomfo Anokye and the sacrifices of Nana Tweneboah Kodua and that Kumasi was founded because of this. Okomfo Anokye's influence is commemorated annually at Akwasidae, the city's most important festival. Others even assert that the chief priest calling down the "sikadwa kofi," also known as the golden stool, is mainly responsible for Kumasi's seal as a renowned city. If you view the picture below, wherever you are, you will feel a greater connection to Kumasi's legacy and rich history.



Having spent formative years in Kumasi, one may say their upbringing was unique. Growing up, I had no idea how hard my parents worked to support my sister and me. My family could never afford transportation when I was a kid, so I recall walking miles daily to school. The air quality was terrible, and the sandy road on which I had to travel to school had stained my uniform crimson when I got home. Despite this, I decided to further my studies and strive for a brighter future.


Everyone in Kumasi works hard to make ends meet, so a typical day might be hectic. Several people were out and about, including hawkers selling wares, refugees selling trinkets, and bus conductors yelling for passengers. I also worked as a conductor, but just on the side and during off hours. The local term for a conductor is mate, and I often acted in that capacity while helping my dad out with his car. This opportunity introduced me to folks from all around the globe and broadened my understanding of other cultures. Fights over spare change and seats, as well as racial and religious prejudice, were all reflected in the way individuals in Kumasi felt about their money. I used the money I made towards my college expenses. My parents worked very hard to care for our family, and my mom was a stay-at-home mom.



The COVID-19 epidemic that struck Ghana, particularly Kumasi, caused a feeling of terror to spread across the city. My dad's profession, our only trustworthy source of income, was on the edge of failing, and people were scrambling to get supplies because there were rumors that businesses would be locked down. The pandemic significantly influenced the neighborhood in which I was raised, making life even more difficult for many families.

I spent my childhood in a community known as Akwatialine. When I think back on it, I have this vision of perfectly laid out streets, perfectly aligned houses on either side of the road, trees that line each street, and children playing in the small gardens behind the houses. Sadly, the reality was far different from what I had envisioned. The buildings were packed closely together, the streets were clogged with sewage and rubbish, and the air was always tainted by the putrid odor coming from the dump site. It should not have come as a surprise to learn that diarrhea, cholera, and malaria were consistently found in our area.



In my more carefree youth, I spent much time with my pals in the neighborhood trash, where we often constructed toys out of the various scraps we found there. And when I entered my teenage years, I was hit with life's harsh realities. Many people I knew growing up felt immense pressure to provide for themselves; some resorted to petty crime or theft to make ends meet, while others spent countless hours online scamming others who were stupid enough to trust them. This is a severe problem in the city, as young unemployed guys may get by swindling tourists at Kejetia or Adum PZ, while young women are compelled to sell their bodies all night long. While everyone tries to make ends meet, some young people may feel lost in the shuffle.

Even though I had a hard time as a kid in Kumasi, I'm glad for all the events that made me who I am now. Despite its flaws, the city's diversity of culture has helped me mature into a confident guy. My early recollections of the town will always be some of my most treasured. Remember the warm hospitality and diverse culture of the people of Kumasi whenever you think about that city.





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page