top of page

Evolution of Education in the City

Growing up on the outskirts of Washington D.C. in Southern Maryland I have had many opportunities to experience the city. As a child it was quite common for me to go into the city with family and friends in order to explore the numerous monuments and museums. As I got older, I had the opportunity to attend high school in Georgetown D.C. Both of these experiences were infused with education and learning but what I obtained from these learning experiences were dramatically different. D.C. distinctly stands out from most other cities as it has been distinguished as the capital of the United States of America. This makes D.C. unique in several capacities including the diversity it holds, and the constant evolution, flow, and discussions of politics, issues, and thought are the focal point of the area. The environment in D.C. is unlike any other city especially in its ability to always be facing critical conflicts in the spotlight of the entire nation and even world that in turn could also affect the entire nation and even world.

When visiting the city as a child I always looked forward to the day we had planned and was excited to go somewhere new which seemed so distant from my normal life. While we were in relatively close proximity to the city the cultures and environments in southern Maryland and D.C. were dramatically different. Southern Maryland is fairly rural with a vibrant Amish community highly integrated in the area. D.C. on the other hand is in all respects urban and technologically advanced. Being able to experience these contrasting conditions was invigorating and inspiring as a young child. We would plan out the day, know we would go to the capital, or the national mall and spend the day at leisure. During these excursions I was filled with energy and eagerness to explore. The weather was always perfect, the experience was always stimulating making it quintessential. This led me to have an all-inclusive positive outlook on cities. I saw them as this perfect fun-filled city like a dreamworld that could be found in a utopian novel.

When I entered 5th grade my brother was entering high school and decided to go to a private school in D.C. He was absolutely inspired by the opportunity and experience encouraging me to also apply to schools in the city. As I got older, I shadowed many schools in Maryland, Virgina, and D.C. but felt nothing could compare to D.C. When I found out I would be going to school in D.C. I was very excited as my view of the city was still a perfect little bubble, however, I quickly realized the reality of the city was much different than what I had made it out to be in my head. Of course, time has changed, and my age and mindset had been developed as age does to a person, but it all seemed to be flipped on its head. The physical beauty of the city had been maintained however the impact of homelessness, poverty, crime, and inclusiveness were vivid and in all aspects of the city. Throughout my schooling years in high school, I spent more time in the city than at home. The long hours or traveling and sitting in traffic along with the constant construction and car accidents causing detours allowed me to explore and interact with all areas of the city and observe how the city and streets were laid out, often times questionably. While I went to school in D.C. for an academic education that was exceptionally notable, the life lessons outside of the classroom are ones that are irreplaceable and vital to understanding the world and life as a whole.



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page