top of page

The 6

Toronto, Ontario. A place I was lucky enough to call home for over 5 years and a place that is now just over an hour away from my home. Being Canadian and living in America now I feel extremely patriotic and proud to tell people I am Canadian when they ask about my accent or if they hear me drop the occasional “eh”. My connection with Toronto starts with going to boarding school there from grades 8-12 and living on campus. Here, at UCC or Upper Canada college, I was able to meet people and friends that I will know for the rest of my life. As cliche as it may sound, I am super grateful for my time spent here and those were some of the best years of my life.


My connection with the capital of Ontario goes deeper than just school, for the last 15 years or so I’ve spent countless hours driving up and down the highway traveling to different hockey rinks around the city and countless dollars on sports tickets to go watch my favorite teams, all of which happen to reside in Toronto. The thing I miss most about Toronto and home apart from the people is the nightlife and food. While Ithaca is gorgeous and certainly has its benefits, the diversity and always on the go type vibe you get with Toronto is something that is extremely difficult to replicate.


As I learn about city planning and what goes into cities, It is eye-opening for me just to realize how much goes into a city in terms of planning, money and whatnot. Toronto is also home to one of the most famous buildings in Canada in the CN tower. The CN tower is a trademark of home and always makes me think just how did people build the top of that thing when sometimes it feels like it touches the clouds.


I have been lucky enough to live all over Canada all the way from east to west coast and I can honestly say that living away from home is fun and a great experience however I do miss home and I think I will always be a Canadian boy at heart. Just like my boys Drake and Justin Bieber. While living in a rural town like Ithaca is relaxing and is a nice change of pace, I do think I enjoy the on-the-go lifestyle of a busy city like Toronto. I think you could almost call it the New York city of Canada. The only negative things I would have to say about Toronto is the traffic and probably how their hockey team can't win in the playoffs.





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page