top of page

Newark "The Bricky City", New Jersey


Growing up in a suburban town two miles away from Newark, I’ve had my fair share of time in “The Brick City”. Newark is referred to as Brick City and has been for many years. The name is derived from the tall, brick buildings that the city erected as affordable housing for residents in the 1970's. Today, the entire city adopts the nickname, which can also refer to the tall buildings in the downtown area of the city. Speaking of downtown, as a kid my family would take me to the Prudential Center, which is the home of the New Jersey Devils hockey team. Hockey wasn’t the only event performed at this arena, as there were concerts, plays, and WWE events held. I think Newark holds a special place in my heart because it offered me a taste of urban life from time to time, since living in a suburban town stripped that opportunity from me.


The Prudential Center


I look at Newark through a lens I like to describe as learning lens. Each time I would cross the bridge that laid above the Passaic River, I would come home with a new lesson. For example, walking in Newark forced to me quickly learn that I needed to pick up my pace if I didn’t want to get trampled by other pedestrians. Or if I didn’t wave my hand to signal the transit bus drivers on Broad Street, he or she would just drive pass by, and I would have to wait another 35 minutes for the next one. I use these learning lenses whenever I am in the Brick City because the differences in behavior between suburban and urban communities make me recognize and appreciate the different lifestyles individuals in these areas obtain. Although I’m not a resident from Newark, I can confidently say I could look and act like one.


A typical work day in Newark


Engaging in this city is something that I haven’t been able to do lately, since much of my time is spent in Ithaca for school and athletics. But when I do get the change to be back home, I always try to make the five-minute drive to downtown where most of my favorite restaurants and store outlets are. An aspect about Newark I truly appreciate is its diversity, in people and areas. For example, Iron Bound, a district in Newark is predominately made up of Portuguese and Spanish families. Every year this sector of Newark holds the event “Iberia” where restaurants set their tables outside and play music around the block for residents and visitors to dance, drink, and interact with their neighbors throughout the night. Another example of this city’s cultural appreciation is every year Newark holds their annual Puerto-Rican Parade. I’m not entirely sure if they celebrate a holiday for Puerto-Ricans or if it’s a parade for recognition, but either way the city closes off their main streets during the afternoon to allow for cop cars, fire trucks, taxis, and normal civilian cars to pass by and honor the Puerto-Rican culture. You would see children hanging their country’s flag from the back seat, while their parents honking the horns of their cars to make as much celebration noise as possible. Overall, participating in these cultural events allows me to appreciate the diversity of the city and engage in other communities besides my own.


Newark's Annual Iberia Festival


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page