top of page

Lujiazui, an industrial and financial legend in the far east.

Lujiazui, a peninsula formed by a bend in the Huangpu River, serving as the core center of Pudong, and even China.To local Shanghainese, Lujiazui is not just a financial center or a famous landmark, but the region that was built by them and where they are deeply proud of.

While talking about its history, it is crucial to know that Lujiazui is located on the eastern part of Pudong New District, where it has started its rapid development after the order from the former president, “Deng Xiao Ping." Due to its wonder location and the numerous connections toward different corners of China and even Asia, it makes itself prosperous and well-known. Moreover, It is also one of the first places in China where reformation has been applied and opened up. Until today, the Lujiazui area still serves as one of the most developed districts in China, and it is known as “Eastern New York.”




Amazingly, the hardworking Chinese workers had made the empty land into an advanced, modern, and cozy environment in the past fifty year, and they make the space a strong muscle that China is proud to show off toward the western and European countries. Interestingly, Lujiazui not only has the second highest building in the world but also has other two tall buildings make them the golden triangle of skyscraper in Lujaizui.


As a resident growing up from Pudong, I witnessed how it was developed and how laborious workers were. I heard unstoppable sounds of construction and saw millions of people came from other provinces to seek for high education and work opportunities. If Shanghai is the cradle for the highest educational people, then Lujiazui will be the spots for the elites. There are numerous shopping malls, restaurants, and luxury hotels, making the whole spots an intriguing part to attract people from all over the world to come.


Praising the local workers, the landscape, and the buildings of Lujiazui is never enough to show my lens of Lujiazui. To me, it is the space where cultivated my financial dreams and urban study pursuits. I experience the most advanced technology and the tallest buildings in China, but I also strongly felt the disparity, where the majority provinces of China are not that advanced and international. I had a dream, that there is one day I can use my own power to develop the less fortunate part of China, enhancing the education, finance, and infrastructure of rural areas in China. Through my high school financial and business interest, the financial characteristics of Shanghai Lujiazui made it a wonderful space to develop my interest and explore deeply toward my interest. There are hundreds of banks around Lujiazui area, making it a wonderland for me to intern and develop basic business knowledges.


Lujiazui is also the space that has witnessed my fulfillment of dream, separation, and graduation. I still remember the night after the graduation promenade and the moment when I looked toward the buildings from the 23th floor of global business center in Lujiazui, I know it is the time to fly across the pacific ocean and start to learn and fulfill my ultimate goal. I love Lujiazui, where shaped my personality, helped me to make friends, and cultivated my thrills toward urban studies.



Lujiazui is a mother, a cradle, a bridge to every young person withe their passions and dream. The numerous skyscrapers are fancy, but they are more important to people as spaces to pursue their goals.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page