top of page

Jamaica, Queens Never Sleeps

169th Street in Jamaica holds a very special place in my heart for the simple fact that the general area surrounding it has just about anything a person might need. Why point out 169th Street? The corner of the block has the F-train, the only train that runs so far in Queens.

Jamaica can be labeled as a hub for southeast Asians. The Bengali population is immense, with many of the shops catered to southeast Asian cultures. As a hustling community, Jamaica definitely fits the saying, “the city never sleeps.” Sure, we’re talking mostly about Manhattan in that sense, but Jamaica is not far off.

Jamaica may seem very dense, but it is spatially very sound. It is not a small area, so each space can cater to different daily activities. I recall going up Hillside Avenue to my elementary school and now as I’m older, I play soccer at the local school fields. When I walk behind Hillside Avenue into Jamaica Avenue, I check out the public library and go to pray at the mosque with my father. Recently, many of the buildings I’ve pointed out have undergone renovations to improve Jamaica’s appearance.


A picture of the newly built Pre-K to 8 school built on Hillside.



During the last decade, there came a more direct focus on improving multiple aspects of life in Jamaica, stemming from shopping, education, health, and transportation. In fact, much of my recollections of Jamaica from the very beginning stems from seeing the change. From a shopper’s perspective, I am constantly visiting independent shops and eateries like Mannan Grocery and Sagar Restaurant, which have been popular enough to expand across Queens.

Jamaica was already largely successful with these shops, but in recent years, numerous big company stores like Target have been introduced. The spatial balance of independent and big company stores makes it very convenient, as a resident, to purchase items without having to venture out to other parts of Queens.

As I grew older, transportation became one of the most important factors for me because I went to middle school in Flushing, Queens, and high school in the Bronx. As a result, my MetroCard became my prized possession. Jamaica excels in the public bus department, as I’ve always used the Q43 and Q44 to get to and from school. In fact, the Q43 dropped me off right in front of my apartment. But the train situation is still something that needs to be addressed. I have such an appreciation for the F-Train because it is the only train in Jamaica. No matter where I go, no matter how many transfers, I will always board the F-Train first and get off the F-Train when I walk home. There’s no surprise that the F-Train is one of the most packed trains during rush hour.

Jamaica will be a place that continues to grow. It contains so much potential, with new schools being built, new stores being opened, and a wonderful community. Hey, the trains may be packed, but Jamaica never sleeps after all.



Here is a picture I took of Hillside Avenue on my walk back home.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page