top of page

Boston MA

Cities are the hearts of society, pumping energy and resources into our consumptive lifestyles. Although I have never directly lived in a city before, they have played a huge role in my childhood and continue to impact many facets of my life. I was born in Denver, Colorado and moved to Groton, Massachusetts, a small suburban town 45 minutes northwest of Boston, when I was 5 years old. From a young age, day trips into Boston or vacations to visit my grandmother in New York were always so exciting. There was a new activity or event to do each and every time: see the new exhibit at the aquarium or science museum, go to a Red Sox game, or eat at a new restaurant. When I heard the word city, entertainment was the first thought to pop into mind. As I have grown older and my days at the Boston aquarium have dwindled, I have come to view Boston, and cities as a whole, through a much more diverse lens, encompassing social and environmental impacts. Living through a pandemic and in an era faced with climate change, my outlook on cities has also been affected dramatically.

Whenever I visit Boston now it is most likely for travel reasons (going to the airport) or meeting up with friends. I admire how convenient Boston is, and cities alike, for a young person like me. It is easy to find a broad array of restaurants, use public transportation, or discover something new and fun to do. I would definitely categorize myself as your average consumer when I find myself in the city. Despite my enjoyment whenever visiting Boston I sometimes feel anxious and cramped. This is not unique to Boston but all cities I go to. For this reason, I admire the incorporation of open, public spaces that create pedestrian foot traffic, such as parks or other green spaces. The Charles River esplanade or Seaport district are my two favorite parts of Boston. I grew up racing on the Charles River in high school and return each year for the Head of the Charles rowing event. The Seaport district, situated right on Boston harbor, is home to some of my favorite bars and restaurants. I find the easiest way to explore cities is by walking or running, so pedestrian access is of great importance to me.

Aside from green spaces and parks in Boston, I am quite attentive to the cleanliness and sanitation of cities, building designs, congestion, and modes of transportation, just to name a few. The COVID-19 pandemic has shifted my point of view on the pure magnitude of people living in urban areas and how valuable space is. Even then, I have a biased perception, provided I have primarily been to only cities in the Global North. I wish to visit more cities that struggle with higher poverty rates and sanitation issues to expand my scope and understanding of the inequalities communities experience on a day-to-day basis, and just how pressing these issues are in the face of climate change.


The Charles River (Boston Magazine)

 

The Zakim Bridge in Downtown (Boston Magazine)


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page